site logo
Last Names By Letter
Full Name List
Search Names
Names By Date
Locations By Section
Full Location List
Cemetery Map
Original Church
Seceder Church
History Pamphlet
Regulations Book
Rules and Regulations
May 2008 Report on Condition of Seceder Cemetery (pdf)
Seceder Minutes (1828-1897)
2015 Meeting Minutes
2014 Meeting Minutes
2013 Meeting Minutes
2012 Meeting Minutes
2011 Meeting Minutes
2010 Meeting Minutes
2009 Meeting Minutes
2008 Meeting Minutes
2007 Meeting Minutes
2006 Meeting Minutes
2005 Meeting Minutes
1961 Remembrance of Portland Mills
Related Links
MapQuest Map
Edit Records
 Contact Me



The Annual meeting of stockholders of Portland Mills Cemetery was held on June 1, 2009. The meeting was called to order by President Carolyn Smith Collins.

Cy Harbison, Secretary, read the minutes from the last meeting. The minutes were approved.

Don Roberts, Treasurer, gave the treasurers report.

                Expenses             $7,436.09


                Interest                                $2,626.09

                Contributions    1,555.00

                Tractor sale         1,500.00

                Bed Sales                 100.00

                Income total      $5,781.09                           

                 Bank balance    $11,439.31

                CD’s                      $66,000.00

Many compliments have been made to the board on how well the cemetery is maintained.  The board  is asking that people  make sure the flowers placed at graves are kept close to the stones for mowing purposes. Thank you to Harold Thomas and Stephanie Wrightsman for your care of the cemetery.

A motion was made to add more mulch and flowers to the cemetery and to the repair of a stone. The benches are all now in place.

Last September we had a work day and straightened stones in the Seceder Cemetery. We were able to get about half of the cemetery completed. We will have a work day this September and straighten the remaining ones. Everyone is welcome to help. Nearer the time, Cy will have a Saturday morning date and time.

Ruth Smiley has a book written about Parke County during World War I. It has the names of the World War I Veterans but it gives details of what the people of Parke County did for the war effort while the soldiers were away fighting the war.

The cemetery needs two new flags. Cy Harbison will be responsible for purchasing them.

It was suggested that the names of those attending the meeting be added to the newsletter.

After much work, the Veterans information on the website is almost complete.  If we have the service information of the veteran, it will be added in a ‘comment’ under the veteran’s name. Thank you, David, for the great job on the Veteran’s page on the Portland Mills Cemetery website. It is our hope that we can now keep the Veteran’s page current.

The grave of Kendra Ann Bell now has a new marker. Every grave at Portland Mills should have a grave marker within a year of burial.

There was one burial in the past year.

  Rita Raney  -  September 12, 2008          

There are still a few books left that were written on Portland Mills. If you are interested in purchasing one, contact Stanley Calvert, 765-569-5657.

Elections were held. Carolyn Smith Collins was reelected as President and Cy Harbison was reelected as Secretary for 2 year terms.

The next meeting will be held on June 7, 2010. It is extremely important for the stockholders to attend the annual meetings. The operating of the cemetery is YOUR business. We hope you will attend next year.

Contributions to the cemetery are always welcome. Send to Don Roberts, 6839 N. Basswood St., Terre Haute, IN 47805

The meeting was adjourned.

Shareholders attending the meeting were:

Don Harbison                                     Jerry and Grace Mary (Brig) Humphreys                                Jim and Helen Hazlett

Larry Hazlett                                       Inez Ruth Wood Smith                                                   Chester Sayler

Alex Harbison                                    Don Roberts                                                                       Norma Jean Sauter

Carolyn Smith Collins                      Cy Harbison                                                                        Dan Harbison

Pat Spencer Marrero                      Jane Spencer Greil                                                          Janet Spencer Barr



President                     Carolyn Smith Collins -765-569-0230

Vice President             Dan Harbison

Secretary                     Cy Harbison

Treasurer                     Don Roberts

Grounds Keeper          Harold Thomas

                                    Stephanie Wrightsman










© 2005-2015 David R. Marrero   ·  All Rights Reserved   ·  Last Updated: 2015-06-24